September Blue Velveteen

There is currently a LOT of controversy over this box. Blue Velveteen is a brand new subscription box company. They released their first boxes to bloggers only back in August and released their first monthly box in September. The company isn’t very business-like on social media. They let the customers get the best of them. Also, there have been a lot of issues with shipping and products. They advertise the box as five deluxe sample or full sized products. Many people are unhappy with the size of products they received. I must agree that the company needs to re-look advertising strategies because “deluxe sample sized” does not match up with the foil packets I received.

BlueVelveteen

Here is what I received:

  • SkinFood multi toners in Deep Sea Water, Glacier Water, and Thermal Water foil packet samples
  •  Ciate Mini nail lacquer in Risky Business
  • NYX Ultra Pearl loose powder in Lilac
  • Sexy Hair Lavender and Chamomile calming body wash
  • Leave in Cream foil packet sample

BlueVelveteen2

SkinFood toners in Deep Sea Water, Glacier Water, and Thermal Water

Sorry for the awful photo! I don’t even know what these are or how to use them because the directions/ ingredients/ etc. are in a different language! I think these are used to hydrate dry skin, but I have no idea! I’m definitely not using this.

WalmartBeautyBox7

Ciate Mini nail lacquer in Risky Business

I love this mini polish! I’ve been wanting to try Ciate polish for a while and hadn’t until receiving this product. I love that it’s blue! This is a simple glitter topper, which I don’t mind at all. This product does go for $8 (or 3 for $18) on the Ciate website (it can be purchased here).

BlueVelveteen1

NYX Ultra Pearl loose powder in Lilac

This loose powder is used as an eye shadow. However, I’m much more of a palette kind of girl and loose shadows make me nervous. I’m too clumsy for them! Also, this purple color is definitely NOT me at all! You can find this and many other colors here for 3.

BlueVelveteen3

Sexy Hair Lavender and Chamomile calming body wash

Now, I am in LOVE with this body wash! It smells amazing and really does have calming affects. I sleep pretty well after using it! I was told via a fellow Julep Swapper, that this product is being discontinued!!! That makes me so sad! I did however find it on Amazon! I’m currently purchasing as many as I can find!

Leave in Cream

I’ve some how misplaced this sample, which means it wasn’t worth it anyways!

All in all, I wasn’t really impressed. I had planned to take October’s box to give them another shot, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever see it or not… So wish me luck I guess? I wouldn’t recommend trying this box out until the company has grown up a bit.

Bargain Betty Me

Leave a Reply

