Major make-up de-stash

When I was a teenager I was crazy about make-up. I was young and really didn’t know what I was wearing or even how to wear it. I wore bright colors, and tons of blues. At this point in time, my mom was also an Avon cosultant, so I frequently got to try the Β new products, and I loved the Mark line of cosmetics. Once senior year hit, however, I became a total bum. I didn’t wear it at all unless I was forced to. Then came college, where I decided I didn’t care what I looked like. I was who I was and make-up wasn’t a priority. About a year ago, I started to wear some concealer and some mascara here and there, because those dark circles under my eyes have grown to massive proportions. Now, I am 21 (and I hate to say it, but nearly 22!), and I still look like I’m 15. I’m not lying! The first time I met my boyfriend’s mom she thought I was underage! And even last week a co-worker told me I could pass for being a freshmen in high school. My sister has recently gotten into make-up, and through her I have learned to love it. It does make me look a little bit older (at least I can pull off being 18 now!) and I’ve found the right balance of natural products that don’t make me look overdone. So, I finally decided that I should get rid of all that random stuff from my high school days. So, here is a photo of what my insanely large stash looked like:

makeup2

Don’t worry, this wasn’t all sitting on my vanity! Only that gray box, which contains my daily/ newer products. Everything else was shoved in to a drawer somewhere. I’m sure this isn’t even all of it, but that’s most of it at least. So, from all of this junk I got rid of:

  • 1 foundation
  • 2 concealers
  • 3 blushes
  • 7 large eyeshadow palettes
  • 14 eye liners
  • 15 mascaras
  • 21 random jars or sticks of eye shadow
  • 36 lip glosses and lipsticks
  • countless brushes

Now, most of this was random colors that I would never wear, or it was stuff so old that I can’t even remember where it came from. But with most of it I went to pinterest to look up how long make-up should be kept for (and 90% of my stuff didn’t pass the test). I decided to use makeup.com‘s guide.

makeup

Like I said, most of it didn’t pass, and if I wasn’t sure I tossed it anyways. It’s always better to be safe than sorry. This brought my make-up collection down quite considerably. I ended up with just have my gray make-up box left! Here’s the final product!

makeup3

Now that I have it all organized, there was one thing left to do… Figure out a way to make sure that a make-up stash like that doesn’t happen again! I’d seen this idea before, so in no way am I taking credit for it, but here is what I did:

makeup4

I’m putting pieces of scotch tape on every item and dating it with when I purchased/received it. Although I think I may run out and grab little white dot stickers that are used at yard sales and such, I think they will look cleaner in the long run. This Nyx Butter lipstick was bought for me by one of my best friends about a week ago, hence why it is dated 8/14. For items that I don’t have an exact date for, I am going to put the year on it, so I know when they should be about to expire.

All in all, make sure you de-stash your collection often! Especially when it comes to eye make-up. You don’t want to get an eye infection like pink eye, and NEVER share eye make-up with anyone! That’s just asking for trouble!

I hope this post let you all get to know me and my make-up style a little bit better! See ya’ll next time!

Bargain Betty Me

Leave a Reply

